More me than me.

Last year I was inspired by the artist André Kertész whilst I was thinking about distorting the contemporary portrait image. His work seemed so dynamic and thought provoking. The distortion mesmerising; human and inhuman in the same image.

I bought some mirror-on-a-roll and then found myself going in entirely different directions. But today I took the mirror roll out to experiment with. It has SO much potential and I am excited about the possibilities. Absolutely hilarious seeing yourself with a foot long chin or two heads. No wonder this type of distortion used to make it into the funfair. I will be asking a wonderful life model if she will pose for me soon as I can imagine working on this either as a photographic series or developing the images into large paintings.

Distortion no 82 – André Kertész

Leave a Reply

