Just beneath the surface

image

Details taken from a series of works in which I explored painting on flesh and ceramics. The surfaces were painted and then photographed, although the quality of the images (given that some are small edits from the original image) varies. I am keen to develop this ‘test piece’ and explore the potential for close up works on the lose theme of surfaces and the skin that separates us. I am liking the possibilities for abstracting the imagery, whilst also removing it from the conflict of relating in any way on a interpersonal¬†level with the model. I realise that this was one disadvantage of the previous series of painted models, in that, whilst the image spoke to me because I had the relationship with the model whilst painting them: the viewer does not need to have any relationship with the model. Moreover, I would rather the paint work is the subject. The following are a few further examples and I will take some new photographs over the next few weeks, exploring the range of techniques I can use to explore photographing painted flesh.
image
image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

