Family Portrait

I’m pretty hooked on the idea of representing ‘self’ in alternative ways. It occurred to me that I should attempt a ‘family portrait’. This seemed logical for multiple reasons (other than ease and practicality), primarily because I regularly contemplate how my son sees himself, places value on physical beauty, and appreciates the bizarre yet creative upbringing he is encountering.

My son is a superb model; often covered in paint, clay slip, wearing masks or modelling for moulds to be made. He is perhaps even a little jealous when I am using another model. These photographs were taken using a timer.

image

image

image

image

There is so much an element of becoming a fantasy – a painting by Cecily Brown:

image

Image source: Google image

or Oscar Kokoschka:

image

Image source: Google image

I still have numerous volunteers waiting to be painted and am keen to have more groups of subjects, as I feel the connection between multiple people is extremely interesting. It is difficult to be the photographer, model and the stylist simultaneously. I realise that this was asking rather a lot. But in terms of self-portraits, these images make me very happy. This is quite normal behaviour in my house on an average Sunday morning! And it will be years, perhaps decades before I will be able to ascertain the effect such things are having (or will have had) on my son. Hopefully he will feel confident in his own skin and wonderfully accepting of eccentricity!

image

Leave a Reply

