A line is a dot that went for a walk. (P Klee)

DSC_1162-2DSC_1165-2

DSC_1169-2-2 DSC_1167-2

Limited palette paintings on board (each 30cm x 30cm)

Whilst working on these paintings I was thinking about the reading I have been doing, having just read a series of essays by Paul Klee. ‘Creative Confessions’ was a really interesting read. I have been thinking about the value of individual marks: dots, lines, a drag of paint. In my tutorial with Stewart Geddes we discussed my preference for smaller works with greater intimacy in terms of applying materials. I was also conscious that I was painting in a similar way to the body painting I had been producing. But, after reading Klee’s writing I was particularly conscious of the relationship between different parts of the whole. I was pleased with the simplicity of these images, and the fact that they inadvertently have a look of bubbles and ripples in dark water. Interestingly the limited palette (or perhaps the actual colours selected) have an equally limited appeal based on the feedback I have had on these pieces!

DSC_1144-2-2

DSC_1143-2-2

Painting onto the photo-litho plates I had taken prints from in the previous week. I decided not to clean the ink off the plates and left them to dry. I then painted onto the surface, taking into consideration how much of the original plate I wanted to leave exposed. The transformative top layer adds another level of depth, pushing the print back and reconstructing it as something potentially natural and coming from the landscape. Exploring the development of these pieces is very pleasing. Where does one place a line or a dot? What difference does it make if there are only a few marks allowed, or if one works quickly. I have been considering these issues whilst reading about mark-making and drawing.

“If I trust my drawing hand, it is because in training it to serve me, I forced myself never to let it take precedence over my feelings.”  Henri Matisse

Leave a Reply

